User account

Martta Heikkilä: Jean-Luc Nancy: Life
Jean-Luc Nancy: Life
(p. 367 – 376)

Martta Heikkilä

Jean-Luc Nancy: Life

PDF, 10 pages

  • ethics
  • post-structuralism
  • deconstruction
  • community
  • democracy

My language

Selected content

Martta Heikkilä

Martta Heikkilä is Adjunct Professor in Aesthetics at the University of Helsinki, Finland. She lectures and publishes on the theory of contemporary art and aesthetics in the context of Modern continental philosophy, particularly phenomenology and poststructuralism. Her current research project concerns the concept of the work of art and its philosophical contexts during the past few decades. She is the author of Deconstruction of the Work of Art: Visual Arts and Their Critique in Contemporary French Thought (Lexington Books / Rowman & Littlefield, 2021), At the Limits of Presentation: Coming-into-Presence and Its Aesthetic Relevance in Jean-Luc Nancy’s Philosophy (Peter Lang, 2008) and the editor and coauthor of Introduction to Art Criticism (in Finnish; Gaudeamus, 2012) and Analyzing Darkness and Light: Dystopias and Beyond (Brill, 2023), among others.
Susanna Lindberg (ed.), Artemy Magun (ed.), ...: Thinking With—Jean-Luc Nancy

With this book, we would like to resume the passionate conversation that Jean-Luc Nancy was engaged in throughout his life, with philosophers and artists from all over the world. Now that he has passed away, it is not enough for us to simply reflect on his work: we would like to stay true to the stance to which his thought invites us, in a pluralistic and communal way. Jean-Luc Nancy takes up the old philosophical question of truth as a praxis of a with — understanding truth without any given measure or comparison as an articulation of a with. It is a thinking responsible for the world from within the world, a language that seeks to respond to the ongoing mutation of our civilization.


With contributions by Jean-Christophe Bailly, Rodolphe Burger, Marcia Sá Calvacante Schuback, Marcus Coelen, Alexander García Düttmann, Juan-Manuel Garrido, Martta Heikkilä, Erich Hörl, Valentin Husson, Sandrine Israel-Jost, Ian James, Apostolos Lampropoulos, Nidesh Lawtoo, Jérôme Lèbre, Susanna Lindberg, Michael Marder, Artemy Magun, Boyan Manchev, Dieter Mersch, Hélène Nancy, Jean-Luc Nancy, Aïcha Liviana Messina, Ginette Michaud, Helen Petrovsky, Jacob Rogozinski, Philipp Stoellger, Peter Szendy, Georgios Tsagdis, Marita Tatari, Gert-Jan van der Heiden, Aukje van Rooden.